catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Camp no more. Not.

Well, I'm now in Chicago. I was half glad to get out of that place known innocuously as "camp". The past few weeks I would think a more appropriate name for it would be "oestrogen-overloaded bitch house with kids running wild".

I should have predicted it. Actually, I think I sort of did, but then things went so well for the first month or so that I thought I had been wrong. Then the bickering and backstabbing and hypocrisy set in and I hated it.

On the plus side, I've come out of it all with some great friends, and I don't think I pissed anyone off too much myself. I stayed out of it mostly (in other words I made myself a wallflower as usual).

So what did I do? Came to another camp. Thank God it's only just over two weeks - I really wouldn't be here at all if it weren't for the money, which is great when compared to the other camp. Two weeks. I will survive.

After that, who knows? I definitely am going to go stay with Harriet, and possibly with a couple of others from camp. I've abandoned all plans of being a tourist in favour of just hanging out with people I've met. I figure that's the way you make memories - having good times with good friends, not by seeing things. Anyhow, I'm pretty sure this won't be my last time in America, so I'll have other chances to see the Grand Canyon and Statue of Liberty and go to Disneyland and other such overrated tourist traps.

I'm torn between homesickness and home-hating. One day I'll not be able to stand the thought of home. Other days, like today, I just want a hug from my mum. This place is so big and I find it hard being somewhere where I can't just instantly know where I am at all times, but at the same time it's sort of exhilarating. I'm a mess of contradictions right now, and there's been a lot of crying the past few days.

4:17 p.m. - 2004-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody