catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Regrettably, I now love America

Don't make me go home! I never want to go back there. The airline sent me my return flight information, and I cried. No matter that I'm not actually booked to fly out until the end of October, just the thought of having to get back to normality and face all the issues I have to face in my homeland depresses me, be that tomorrow or three months away.

So, I've gone and got myself a job at another camp for a few weeks after I finish here, then after that I'm going to stay with friends I've met at camp. None of them live anywhere near Disneyland, alas, but I'm sure I'll get over that.

I found myself reading my visa info last night to see if there was any tiny loophole that would allow me to stay here forever, but it turns out that I couldn't even if I married a citizen. There goes that plan - although I could count the number of males I've met here on both hands, being at a girl scout camp, and I'm pretty sure none of them had any intention of marrying me.

I heard rumours that New Zealanders can work in Canada without too much hassle, and I'm seriously considering that. I went to Canada for dinner last night, and it seemed like a nice enough place. Perhaps I could flee to there.

I know America's far from perfect, but no kidding, it's got infinitely more opportunity than anywhere else I've lived. I see my co-workers who go to colleges which actually have status internationally and get insanely jealous because they'll actually be able to get the jobs they want. Not so for your average Kiwi.

So that's my rant. New Zealand's pretty, and liberal, and I love the people there, but otherwise it sux. I am an America convert.

4:19 p.m. - 2004-07-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody