catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is it hate?

I don't tend to hate people. Even the guy who date-raped my friend or the one who picked on me all through primary and high schools while when nobody was around he felt me up. The closest I can get to hating them is an intense dislike which boils up when they're around.

I think that hating someone is defined at the point where you want that person dead. You think the world would be a better place without them. I've never got that extreme.

I'm pretty close to that point though right now, and it doesn't seem to be for any real good reason. The unlucky recipient of these feelings thinks he's my friend. He isn't. He thinks he knows everything and that the world wants to know his opinion on everything from politics to relationships. He's an imbecile and a redneck.

I used to think I loved this guy. That was at a point in my life where I admired his self-assuredness and what I thought was wordly wisdom. I've never done such a turn-around in my life.

The poor guy - as far as he's aware he's never really done anything to hurt me. Little does he know that when he states his (extremely right-wing) political opinions he cuts me deep.

When he says that beneficiaries are losers who should be forced to work for their pittance, he's unaware that I was unemployed and supported by the government for six months - not by choice, but because I genuinely could not get a job in this shithole we call a town. Not because I'm unemployable, but simply because there are no jobs. Not because I'm lazy, but because not everybody is able to walk straight out of high school into a well-paying and enjoyable job (as he incidentally did).

When he jumps on the anti-indigenous bandwagon currently sweeping our land and says that our country is being ruined by Treaty of Waitangi claims by Maori (if you don't know what the Treaty is, read up on it - NZ history's not as boring as you might think), he doesn't understand how ignorant he's being. The Maori were here first. This is their country. Europeans took their land unfairly. It would perhaps be different if they had somewhere to go back to where their culture was still intact. As it is, their land, language and religion has been trampled by colonisation and if we ignore their right for compensation there will, quite frankly, be no culture left.

Perhaps it's unreasonable to expect a high-school dropout who lives at home at age 22 and has no real life experience to understand a fucking thing about culture. But he's racist and doesn't even deny it. He thinks Asians are taking over the world and Africans are stupid, and he probably hasn't heard of any other ethnicity.

And what pisses me off about this guy the most is that although his intoxicating brainwashing effect has worn off me, most of my friends still hang off his every word and thing he's the man.

He's creating a new race of ignorant, backward clones.

He's a dick.

7:39 p.m. - 2004-04-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody