catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another anti-America rave rave rave

I'm proud of my country this week. I don't know when I got so political in my diary. Apologies, but it's my new thing.

The civil unions bill was passed, meaning that from early next year gay relationships can be legally recognised, giving them the same rights and obligations as for married couples.

On the same day, the court overruled a decision by the government that an Algerian immigrant was linked to terrorism and released him from jail after two years, thanks in part to public pressure.

There's nothing I wish more for the world than that it could take its lead from precedents like ours rather than those of the US. It makes me feel far too smugly superior for my liking when I hear about human rights abuses taking place in Iraq and the Guantanamo prison camp, knowing that I know far more about that than the average American.

I sometimes wonder if many people get the irony of the Pledge of Allegiance under the circumstances of the past few years.

One nation, under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all. It almost makes me laugh.

6:11 p.m. - 2004-12-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody