catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

New pope, radarada. I know as a non-Catholic I have about as much right to comment on this as I do as a non-American to comment on American politics, but that never stopped me. Why change?

I've always been absolutely prepared to live in neutrality towards the Catholic church. I even was semi-saddened by the death of John Paul II, simply because not all ties have been severed between his branch of the religion and mine, and I did feel that he had some minute effect on my life.

I know it was completely unreasonable to expect a pope to be elected who would be sympathetic to women's and gay rights, who was pro-choice and all for stem cell research and, well, liberal. There always was the small problem that the pope actually does have to be a Catholic!

But seriously, Benedict XVI? He's one to watch out for. He's against contraception, even to prevent the spread of AIDS. He's vehemently opposed to women or married men being priests. He wants young women who fall pregnant to be denied the advice and support of church workers.

Where's the love? None of that stuff is anywhere near what is found in the Bible. They're rules made up by men to keep people in their place. Especially women.

11:06 a.m. - 2005-04-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody