catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Life or something

The upside of being bored and uninspired is that it doesn't take much to make your day.

Case in question: Work last night, an old lady calls up and won't stop talking after I've finished helping her. She tells me about EVERY job she's ever had...

Bev: ...And then, when I was about your age, I worked on production at the air force base in Wanaka. I put an ejector seat in a helicopter and got myself fired.
Me: Is there something wrong with putting an ejector seat in a helicopter?
Bev: Well, yes honey! If you ejected from a helicopter you'd get yourself decapitated!

Then she told me how great life is at 75 when your husband has died and your house is freehold, and said she hoped my life would turn out as wonderfully as hers! It was classic.

I have to write essay number two for the week today. It's a bitch of an assignment, and the last one I got back for this paper was a B. I'd never got less than an A- for an essay and I swear this one was as good as any of the others. Maybe I'm just rusty, I dunno. Maybe it's time to stop with the day-before madness... or to stop caring about my marks. If Cs get degrees, Bs definitely do.

At least I'm finished with Le Morte Darthur. Well, I never actually finished it, but that section of the course is over and I pulled something out of my ass for the assignment. I should probably read the second half before the exam, but now we're on to Romeo and Juliet for Past Masters. Shakespeare's definitely more my thing. And we've started J. M. Coetzee's Disgrace for Literature and Politics, and it's creeping its way up my favourite books list. It's so detached and amoral, like I wish I could be!

I've started writing again too. I hadn't really done any since I got back from America, but it turns out I missed it. I was keen to join the writing group at uni, but turns out they meet Monday evening when I'm at work. Good one! Then I thought I'd join the photography club, but remembered I already joined and never went to the meetings or used the darkroom so was a little scared they might hate me! Maybe second trimester. Although I might not study for the second - there aren't any papers I want to do on offer. Seriously, about half the ones I were planning on doing are "currently not being offered", and the other half are all first trimester courses. I don't know whether to just do any old papers or to wait and do ones I really want to do. Because I'll never study if I'm not into the course.

Okay, enough inflaming my OOS wrist by updating. It needs to be preserved for the essay! Note to self: Dad's birthday today. Get present before he finishes work!

12:20 p.m. - 2005-04-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody