catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Parasites

Sometimes I just like to sit and wonder what parasitic microorganisms live in my gut. Thank you, BMSC 117.

I'm taking a sick day tonight. I called my manager an hour ago and she sounded very suspicious.

Of course, it is a Saturday. Who wouldn't think it a bit fishy when someone calls in sick on a Saturday night? But realistically, my only options are Friday night, Saturday night and Monday night. Two thirds of my sick leave WILL seem dodgy. That's life.

Thing is, I actually am very sick. I have been for about five weeks, with constant nausea and the odd bout of vomiting, and it's getting worse to the point where I can't eat. I'm losing lots of weight, but am more concerned than ecstatic. Time to stop with the peppermint tea and ginger capsules and various remedies - time to go to the doctor.

Mum clearly thinks it's morning sickness. She never has had much faith in my ability to not be impregnated.

I think it's one of three things, and none are pretty:
a) Campylobacter. When we came back from India three years ago, Peter had it, and still has relapses. I could've got it from him.
b) E. coli. Our beach has been closed recently because of it, and nobody told me. I was still swimming.
c) Giardia. See option (b), substitute "river" for "beach".

I really should read the newspaper more often, and maybe swim less?

Plans for my big night off:
1) Attempt poetry close analysis assignment that's due Monday. I don't get poetry. I don't want to analyse it. I have to do this before I can start on the novels. Harriet, where are you when I need you?
2) Watch Heavenly Creatures, one of Peter Jackson's earlier (and better) films.
3) Eat something.

3:33 p.m. - 2005-03-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody