catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Excuse the two-days-out-of-date-edness of this entry. I don't currently have enough energy to write different things for livejournal AND here.

I'm slack, I confess.


I started my training for the new job today. I'm doing full-time for about six weeks before moving into my night shifts.

That means for now I'm getting up at 5.45 and catching the train at 7.00. I was sitting in my swivelly ergonomic chair at the round table with the other trainees this morning, thinking about how long it's been since I've even been UP in the morning. Or at least before ten.

Also, I was sitting in my swivelly ergonomic chair at the round table between two boys, thinking how long it's been since I'd actually met a new Kiwi boy (we're talking pre-America here - I haven't been out much lately!), and so as the day progressed I became quite distracted. That didn't matter though, because all we did was make pretty name-tags with felt tip pens and have a Dr. Seuss motivational book read to us in a baby voice (for real) and make posters that represent values that make up some stupid acronym.

Training is a load of poo. Where else would someone take you seriously when you draw a picture of a fat man with blue hair and bare feet and a tambourine with ribbons and no mouth, saying that's what "integrity" means to you?

But really, who's complaining at $16 an hour? And it turns out I was one of six chosen out of 90 applicants and 40 interviewees, so that was a nice (and much-needed) wee ego boost.

7:51 p.m. - 2005-01-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody