catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hemmed in

"I don't have enough faith to be an atheist"

That was the title of a book I saw in a catalogue this morning, and I related. I always feel as though I'm taking the easy option, believing in God. For me, it would be so much harder to look at the world and see it devoid of spiritual influence.

In reality, though, there's nothing easy about being a believer. It's no longer the societal norm, and somehow it's become more intellectually acceptable to believe in aliens than in God. As for someone who thinks both are probably out there... well... sometimes I wonder how people like me don't get burned at the stake for modern-day heresy.

Ok, that's a bit extreme. But my secular nation is so much less tolerant and diverse that it prides itself on being. Educated people are, as a given, liberal agnostics. Religious people are ignorant and want our culture to revert to the white-picket-fence days. It's been made abundantly clear by my discussions with people from both groups that there's no place in this society for someone to be intelligent, strongly religious AND progressively liberal.

I've similarly vetoed Australia, America, Canada and Britain as places where I could fit in. I think I need to found my own country (preferably near the Equator!).


12:06 p.m. - 2004-11-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody