catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The beginning of a lifetime of leftism

Can I just say, my favourite thing about being in America right now is all the political bullshit.

I'll be walking down the street and some girl with a clipboard will come up to me and ask me if I'd like to help get John Kerry elected. Oh, if only I could, I say to her. If only I could even vote for him myself.

The second presidential debate was the other night, about a stone's throw from where I am. Needless to say, I had about the same chances of getting anywhere near it as would Osama bin Laden, being not only a non-American but one whose visa has technically expired. I didn't even get to watch it on TV, but I'll get over it.

I honestly don't care at all what America does with itself. I don't live here, I'm out of here in ten days, and for all I care they can elect leaders who'll ban abortion, kill all their criminals and tattoo the mark of the beast on the forehead of every citizen, if that's what they want. That's their business.

What isn't their business is messing with the governments of other countries. It's not okay for the president of one nation to declare himself King Of The World and invade countries he doesn't like on a whim.

I figure if one man's going to have such a big say in the history of the entire world, the entire world should have a vote in who that man is. But we don't.

And it's not just Iraq and Afghanistan Bush's lemmings have been fucking with either. Sure, they haven't bombed my country. Yet, at least. But they've screwed up our economy by refusing free trade unless we get rid of our anti-nuclear legislation. Not quite the same thing, but that's still some pretty extreme bullying, and something our government will probably cave on if Bush gets re-elected.

I told this to an American a while ago, and she said nuclear-free laws are stupid anyway because nuclear energy is safe and people should stop being paranoid.

That is not the point.

For a country that prides itself on its green image and refusal to cave to international norms, to reverse a nuclear ban would be tourism suicide. For us to bow to American pressure would undermine our neutral status in the eyes of the international community and put us in the American allies camp and make us a lot of enemies.

I never cared about American politics until they started affecting what happens in my home land. I hate looking on helplessly as Bush stays ahead in the polls, supported by ignorant sheep who think he's been a big success. A second term for him would be a disaster, and I'm not exaggerating in the least.

I need to have a say, and I just don't know how right now. But one day I'm going to have a voice that's heard, I'm determined of that.

12:10 p.m. - 2004-10-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody