catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The day I finally enjoyed work

The thing about loud people is that they either completely dominate you or they bring out the loud person in you.

Generally, the first is true for me. I'm pretty introverted as a general rule and don't have much to say except to people I know well and trust. When I'm with a group of people, it often feels like there's some kind of competition going on as to who gets the most talking time, and I invariably lose. When people begin talking over the top of each other, I switch off and just blend into the background. I even stop listening.

Tonight I worked late, and it was slow going. I'm kind of a loner among the checkout chicks. They all seem to click with each other and have fun, while I just do the work, get my pay and go home. This evening, though, I was working with the loudest girl I have ever met in my entire life. She's a born performer - a drama queen you might say - who has an opinion on everything. At first I thought she was way way over the top, and that I'd avoid her if at all possible.

That was until I decided to just give her a go. So tonight we took our breaks together, we worked next to each other, we talked and played and joked and screamed and sang and ate candy. It was the most fun I've ever had at work. I held my own with her, she brought out the crazy girl in me.

I wish this had happened earlier. I'm finishing at my job in four days, and I've only just started making friends there. Story of my life.

10:06 p.m. - 2004-05-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody