catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lies, damn lies

I must be a useless liar.

My friends and I were playing a game today where each person says two stories that are true and one that is false from their life. The others had to guess which was the lie.

Both turns I took, they guessed straight off. Odd, I thought. I was so sure the true stories I told sounded a bit far-fetched, while the lies sounded distinctly on the plausible side.

These were my six stories. Pick the two that weren't true:

1) When I was six, I was proposed to by a boy named Joshua. He moved to Australia a few years later.

2) My mother just completed a course in how to restrain violent people, and practised all her moves on me.

3) When I was little, my best friend threw my favourite headband out the window, so I buried her Barbie dolls in revenge.

4) I used to have two goldfish. A couple of months ago, one started swimming upside down, and did this for about three weeks before it finally died.

5) I had chicken stir-fry for dinner last night.

6) A guy at work likes me. I decided I couldn't deal with this before I go away, so I made my brother pretend to be my boyfriend to put him off.

Yeah, so... 3 and 5 were my lies. I wish I could lie better. It's like, a life skill, I reckon. A bad one, but a skill nonetheless. How well do liars do? Whoever said honesty was the best policy must have died poor and alone, despite his clear conscience.

Anyway, now everyone knows about the guy at work. I'm very primary school in my attitude to boy-girl stuff. I hate people knowing what's going on with me there. I guess I just subconsciously wanted to prove to them that I'm attractive, too... Nobody will ever be jealous if they don't know who likes me.

10:25 p.m. - 2004-05-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody