catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Argh!

So, about six months ago I decided it would be fun to head to the almighty US of A and work at a summer camp. I like kids, I like sports and most of all I hate winter, so fleeing the southern hemisphere for the coldest months seemed like a good option for me. I conveniently chose to overlook the fact that Americans are altogether too loud for my liking and I am hoping that all will be well for my ears.

What they don't tell you, just in case you are contemplating this same coming-of-age journey, is that They (yes, I said They) may well place you in a camp where there will be no access to members of the opposite sex aside from balding fathers of intrepid young campers.

Yes, that's right. I'm heading around the world to spend my whole summer with girls. Girls! And not just any girls, but girl scouts - real, live, patch-wearing scouts. I've never even met one of those. I am, to put it nicely, nervous. Three months, no men! Not even boys.

It's not that I'm some kind of horn-bag slut who needs the action. Quite the opposite. But guys are so much more fun. They don't laugh guiltily when they fart. They beat each other up instead of holding grudges. Not to mention the fact that they run around with no shirt on when it gets hot (oh how I wish I could do that).

So, a quarter of a year with not even the possibility of meeting some hot foreigner. Unless I switch teams that is, but let's face it, that ain't gonna happen.

I'll need a lot of strength.

2:33 p.m. - 2004-04-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody