catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

. . . trying to stop my hunger with FOOD
is like trying to appease thirst
with ink.

- to give credit where it's due, Frank Bidart wrote that in a poem; I only wish I did.

My poetry is woefully pathetic. I try and try, but I just don't write anything worth writing home about. I can't get past prose and that's sad to me, not least because poetry is just so much more damn classy, according to everyone and everything.

(If you don't believe me, ask Sylvia Plath why she's known as a poet as opposed to a writer of short stories, even though Johnny Panic and the Bible of Dreams is much, much more than just a fucking awesome title. She may not answer you; I guess that's her prerogative.)

I found my diary from when I was fourteen just yesterday. Besides screeds of does-Aaron-like-me angst, there were four cringe-worthy poems. I guess I knew even then, before embarking on studies of English literature, that if you want to write it better be poetry that you write. As a side note, I won the poetry cup that year, so I guess I can conclude that my teenage poetry was the least inadequate out of the shit those poor judges had to sift through. Seriously, when my friends inflict their poems on me and hordes of others via Livejournal, I want to kick them in the head. Why do that to yourself? Why expose yourself as the pretentious ass you are?

I hate poems. To be fair, those who write them are usually quite decent people. I'd love to know, though, when poetry changed from the genius rhythms and rhymes of Shakespeare and Donne to lines of prose split in random places that actually don't make any sense.

This, even, is poetry...

It makes me mad. Only a poet would do that. Who's the real writer: the one who sits down for a year to write a novel, or the one who randomly pulls words out of a hat and plonks them together?

Not that the blogger is any better than the poet. What with the distinct lack of anything that could qualify as even a short story coming from me lately, I really can't count myself as anything more than that.


9:07 p.m. - 2005-07-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody