catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

I was going to go to bed at nine o'clock tonight. I didn't. I read a while ago that all the hours of sleep you miss build up and up until you sleep enough hours to pay off your sleep debt. My debt must be building by several hours a week. The interest is probably compounding as well.

Not to worry. Last week of class for this semester! Three cheers for that.

I passed my full driver licence test this morning - congratulations, me! I was so damn nervous I ate breakfast and it made me vomit. That was probably because of how terribly my last test went. I am completely aware that I probably only passed that one because I was wearing a low-cut top, but today I decided to try passing on the basis of my actual driving skill. Looks like it worked, and now I don't have to take another practical until I'm eighty. There is a God, I tell you.

Speaking of God, these last few days have been peppered with people trying to talk me out of voting Labour this year. If I punched everyone who told me that Christians shouldn't be left-wing, wow... there would be so many black eyes! I was going to use the old if-I-had-a-dollar line, but that actually wouldn't make me very rich. I'd probably earn more than that in an hour at work.

Still, though, it makes me mad. It seems like my entire church is voting the other way because of two things Labour has done this past term: passing the Civil Unions Bill and reforming prostitution law.

Morality is about so much more than regulating peoples' sexuality. How about the fact that if any other party had been in power these past four years, New Zealanders would have been in Iraq, too? Is that not a moral issue?

Maybe it is about choosing the lesser of two evils. Whatever. If that's the case, I'll choose the evil that means we don't support unjust wars, thanks. I don't think allowing people to be free to do what they want in their personal lives is the threat to society it's made out to be.

Whoops. I planned to keep it light today!

10:07 p.m. - 2005-05-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody