catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stupid people piss me off

I always thought studying in America would be the greatest thing ever, because their universities seem so much classier and more organised.

Then on livejournal, I read a post by one of my American sort-of friends, a third-year philosophy major. It included, on the topic of her recent exam, this:

"--Which, by the way- I had NO IDEA what the answer to number 11 was ("Describe in detail Pascal's wager?"). Other than that I was pretty good. So- the officail answer to #11 in my blue book is:
"Pascal wagered that 3 Aces would beat a Full House in poker. He was wrong."

eh- if I can get a laugh out of it, I'm satisfied. If I were a Professor, I would prefer something like that INFINITELY over "I don't know" or a blank answer."

Besides the fact she has no grammatical or spelling skills whatsoever, I can't help but note that Pascall's Wager is an argument I learned on my second day at university. A ridiculously easy one, at that.

Not to mention that nobody in their right mind would ever wager that three aces would beat a full house. Shall we just mock every great mind on which our society is based?

Oh, dear lord. She also wants to write a novel in the near future. Watch out, world.

I'm a terrible, horrible person. My scathing view of this girl is far too affected by the backstabbing she subjected me to. But really, why advertise your stupidity any more than is absolutely necessary?

8:58 p.m. - 2005-03-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody