catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My overseas heart

Lately I've been feeling that my heart and my head are more often in other countries than they are at home.

To start with, seeing the tragedy in Asia breaks my heart. I can't bring myself to care about the things I'm supposed to be caring about. How could I ever have worried about starting my new job or going back to uni or getting corporate clothes? That shit means nothing to someone with no home or no family.

I secretly have felt for a long time that the real reason I don't want to study or work is that I'm not going to be in this system forever. I want to spend my life doing something that makes a difference in a place where they have real problems, not wrangling even more money for some greedy executives at a bank (which, incidentally, I start doing next Wednesday).

I know I can't jet off tomorrow, but I sure as hell am not staying here forever.

And on another continent, my friend's been basically kicked out of her family and wants to die. They blame her for her mental illness.

It hurts me so much to read that.

P.S. This is an actual quote from an acquaintance (thankfully, not a friend): "Maybe the tsunami is God's way of saying there are too many Asians in the world". There are too many of her in the world, I say.

2:25 p.m. - 2005-01-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody