catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I want it now

I was thinking this morning as I power-walked along the beach before breakfast (because that's when it burns the most calories, got it?) about, among other strange things, how much easier life would be if the choices we made and the way we lived had immediate effects.

Imagine if the way I looked and felt depended only on what I ate and what exercise I did the day before - how much more motivated would I be to look after myself? And then, maybe once a fortnight I could eat pizza all day and stay home the next so nobody would see me obese and pimply. Ah, in a perfect world...

I definitely would stop sunbathing too. The threat of getting wrinkles and maybe skin cancer in my forties doesn't do enough to put me off tanning - risking all that for tomorrow would be a different story.

The possibilities are endless. Save money today, be a millionaire tomorrow. Apply for a job today, get it tomorrow. Brush my teeth with whitening toothpase today, have a dazzling smile tomorrow.

I guess it's all part of living in the instant-gratification generation. I hate having to do stuff now to make my future better.

11:55 a.m. - 2004-11-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody