catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Religious right, religious wrong

I'm disillusioned and disgusted. It's a bit of a delayed reaction, postponed by Harriet issues... but WHAT THE FUCK IS AMERICA SMOKING?

I know it's rude to comment on the elections of other countries, but HOW can they call Bush's first term even close to satisfactory?

Because they only hear about how few American soldiers have died during the war and not don't know or care that over 100,000 Iraqi civilians have been killed, that's why. Because they believe the lies Fox feeds them about the war being a two-sided affair as opposed to a callous occupation of a weaker country by the most powerful, greedy nation in the world.

Because Christians think it's okay to be so ignorant as to believe that voting on "moral issues" means solely voting against abortion and gay marriage, oblivious to the fact that caring for the environment, making education accessible, looking after poor people and minorities, and NOT INVADING COUNTRIES AT WHIM are all things we should be standing for. Not to mention there are valid religious arguments for not banning abortion and for allowing civil unions for gays.

I'm so angry, all I can do this afternoon is sit listening to my Rock Against Bush CD. I can't move.

I want to accept that the opinions of other people are equally valid, but I just can't even begin to contemplate what must go on in the heads of Bush supporters.

Leader of the free world, my ass. Any country under Bush, any country ruled by the culture of fear and unilateralism that I saw in my time there, will never be free. Long may New Zealand resist the temptation to join him in his crusades.

12:57 p.m. - 2004-11-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody