catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reunions and hospitalities

Greyhounded it back from Chicago to Detroit two days ago, and rediscovered my CDs in the process. I love music - I had completely forgotten.

So, I arrived and waited until Princess and Roxy rounded the corner, grinned and gave me big hugs. It always comes as a mild surprise to me when people are actually happy to see me. You would really think I'd be used to it by now - by all accounts I am a fun person - but for real, it beats me what people see in me that makes them want to have me around.

But, insecurities aside, I'm taking full advantage of the hospitality Americans are famous for. I love how when they tell you to make yourself at home, they're not just saying it to be polite, but really mean it. So different from the classic New Zealand invite to dinner - "Sure, bring some meat for yourself, we'll throw it on the barbie".

Ahhh.

I've gained eight kilos since being here. That's all the weight I lost three years ago. Damn!

2:18 p.m. - 2004-09-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody