catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Introducing Work Guy

There's a guy at work who's got a huge crush on me. I hate the word "crush" but in this case it's the only way to describe what's going on. He hasn't even talked to me. He just follows me around, checks me out, tries to catch my attention. If it wasn't so cute, it'd be creepy!

This is a bit of a recurring thing in my life. There's something about me that attracts the shy ones, and, quite frankly, I wish I knew how to make it stop! Here is the story of my love life. Or lack of the aforementioned.

I first got asked out when I left my small private school at age eleven. I'm a nice person, generally, and I have always tried to get along with everyone around me. Little did I know back then that this wasn't the way things worked in the public school arena. So, I talked to the class geek. He fell in love with me because it turned out I was the only person who'd been kind to him in years. Poor guy. I turned him down and I bet he wished he'd never met me afterwards because when I told the cool kids, they beat him up. People have always been ultra-protective of me for some reason.

That year, I developed my first real life crush on the naughty kid of the class. He got moved to sit next to me after throwing a brick through a window, and we spent much of our time in class putting PVA glue in each other's desks. He started dating another girl in our class and proceeded to kill himself at age thirteen.

The next year I started high school. We were playing truth or dare, and it came out that a cute little guy called Andy had a thing for me. Andy was not so much a geek as just a quiet guy. He was nice, and I talked myself into liking him in return. We were considered a couple for the next couple of years, but we were both incredibly embarrassed about it and neither of us actually ever got up the nerve to ask the other out, so it was never official. Needless to say, there was no making out.

During the second year of my non-relationship with Andy, I was finally pursued by someone who actually had the nerve to talk. My friends all loved him. He was a total hotty... for a 14-year-old that is. He hung out with me all the time and got his friend to ask me on a date for him. I said no. I have no idea why and regretted it for a long, long time, until he date-raped my friend. Now, needless to say, I dislike the guy intensely.

And do you know what? Since then, I haven't been asked out once (unless you count my friend Kate's boyfriend, who got drunk and told her that when he dumped her he was going to go out with me). There have been a string of guys who have loved me from a distance, but no dates. And I don't regret it all that much. I've figured out what I want in a guy, and one of the things I want is guts. I'm not interested in someone who won't have the balls to start a decent conversation with me. Screw you, cute guy from work who's too scared to ask me on a date! I ain't gonna do the dirty work! Your loss.

6:04 p.m. - 2004-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody