catfish19's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I, the punctuation Nazi

I've read a few diaries today, some good, some bad. But one thing I'd say they all had in common was atrocious grammar, spelling and punctuation.

Now, come on guys, have we not been to primary school here? Or were we such badasses that even at the age of six we didn't listen to what we were taught?

I, to be perfectly honest, am the worst grammar Nazi around. I can't stand the way pop culture's been sabotaged by text and chatroom laziness - everything anyone writes these days is abbreviated, badly spelt and un- or over-capitalized. It pisses me off to read something which could be a genius piece of writing and yet not be able to tell where one sentence should end and the next start.

This may all be very elitist of me. I don't care. I will never take anyone seriously who doesn't understand the correct useage of the humble apostrophe (in my opinion the most beautiful of punctuation marks, not least because there's one in my name).

Don't get me wrong. If it's poetry or if it's making some kind of a point, lack of grammar is fine by me. I'm a writer, not a poet, and I don't fully understand it, but each to their own. But please, people, learn the difference between its and it's!

5:32 p.m. - 2004-03-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

quoted
infinityfye
smoog
crateobscure
just-onebody